The Reverse Rhonda and other tidbits

Superheros

Which should I choose? My head has given itself a “Reverse Rhonda” after my radiotherapy. From under the eyes up there’s what looks like sunburn, but thankfully it’s fading quite quickly due to the power of Aloe Vera, Calendula and other mild but exotic potions. I have freckles all over the top of my head, but hopefully they will fade as well. My face is still not my own doe to the steroids I am on, but that’s the least of my problems.

reverse rhonda

I can write a little better, but reading’s still too hard, especially complex emails, letters and bureaucratic forms. I need people to help with those.

Unfortunately there’s no long-term answers get, and every week is a waiting game. I understand and genuinely appreciate that everyone wants to know, but please respect that I need and want to know more than anyone else (how could I not?), and if I don’t know, I can’t tell you. Please try to be patient, and not jump on my parents or myself the minute you think I might be be out of an appointment. I suppose that means tomorrow… I have a big day of appointments, and it will be hard regardless of good or bad results.

Mobility-wise, I have not really been better or worse this week. Not being worse is great, but it’s frustrating for me that I’m not getting any better and that I still need babysitting, as such. We’re in the process of setting up a service through https://www.lotsahelpinghands.com/c/717872/ for close friends and family to offer support. Feel free to sign-up if you really want, but it’s really only going to be using it for proper respite for my Mum, rather than a quick drop in. I think people might be unaware of how much help physical help I am needing at the moment. Dropping in for a cuppa is wonderful, and I love it (please don’t stop!), but it’s not respire, unfortunately, we’ve been needing a bit more than that at the moment. God I hope that changes soon and I start getting some strength back! I’ve had a personal alarm system installed, so I can be safe at home my myself. The nice man – too nice if you ask me – spent nearly 4 hours getting it up yesterday. I was told it would take a couple of hours, but he just wanted to talk. I’m not sure I was even answering him by the end. He said he often gets horrible customers who try to hurry him up and think it wasn’t going to take long, so I felt bad about hurrying him up.

Despite what he might have thought, me semi-invalid on the couch, I had things to go!! This cancer malarkey is a full-time job. Appointments of all kinds, morbid things to think about, regular everyday things such as wills and cleaning … I have no clue how I ever has able to hold down a full-time job. I suppose whatever life throws at us we just get it done.

On top of this, I let the council cleaner get talking to me today as well. Moral of the story is, I need to find a way to stop being so nice to trades that they stick around taking afterwards/instead of doing their jobs, without being too mean.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Health Stuff, Life's ponderings
6 comments on “The Reverse Rhonda and other tidbits
  1. Hugs to you my friend xoxoxoxoxox

  2. Toula says:

    Hi Frances, big hugs and smiles. What about setting a timer and letting helpers know upon arrival when it goes off it’s your quiet time or something? It certainly is a 24/7 commitment and the MOST demanding job ever. Toula xx

  3. David Siviour says:

    I suppose the best way of keeping them to a timetable is when the tradie arrives mention that you have an appointment 15 mins after you think they should be able to be done by. Hopefully that way you can help them keep focus.
    All the best

  4. Toula says:

    Hi Frances, do you have email address to chat? If you do, could you SMS me, I’d like to chat to you via email. If it is not easy for you at the moment, don’t worry. I’ll try sending you a message via mobile.
    Take care & hope you are traveling ok despite all the intrusive yucky stuff.
    Much love,
    Toula xxx

  5. Tish says:

    I’ll keep this short and sweet: ❤

Ask me a question to save me getting lonely!

Recent Posts
Archives
