A crafty request

My hands and feet have been severely knocked around by the chemo I’m on. I have a lot of numbness – caused by peripheral neuropathy – in my hands and feet. The feet stuff can be dangerous, as it affects your balance and makes me quite unsteady moving around. It also feels pretty wrong having numb feet all the time. In my hands it means I have very poor grip. I have trouble undoing things and doing things up, and that same annoying numbness. I also drop things a lot. No pain thankfully, but if I don’t stop this chemo at the right time, these side effects could be permanent. At the very least they will not right themselves 100%, and I need my hands and feet working. They’re helpful things, hands and feet!

Back a few months back I started to learn to crochet. I even had a few lessons! I had a pattern and coordinating wool ready to make myself a lovely scarf, but I’m a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to artsy/crartsy stuff, and was practicing the basics before tackling a real garment. So hopeless am I at this knitting and crochet thing that I didn’t even think you just unpick it and start again if you stuff it up. Anyway, I never even got to start my lovely scarf before my fingers stopped working, and now I need someone to make it for me. I have the pattern and wool, I just need an able crochet-er to make it for me. I think it’s pretty simple… if you know what you are doing. I’ll post the pattern and wool to whoever wants to make it for me!

Blue colour wayRetro colourswool colours

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Crafts, Health Stuff, Life's ponderings
4 comments on “A crafty request
  1. Christine says:

    i would so like to help out but crochet is beyond me at this stage but it is one thing i was planning on learning and then putting into action in the chemo chair. Good luck xo

  2. I’ve had 2 offers of help (I can’t crochet, so have outsourced!), one in the UK and the other in NZ. Let me know if you’d like me to follow up either/both. šŸ™‚

  3. Toula says:

    Dear Frances,
    I would LOVE to crochet your scarf for you – and I am local! Give me a call on my mobile – you have the number….look forward to your reply. Lots of love, Toula

  4. francesmgill says:

    Thanks everyone for being so generous with your time. I’ve had tons of offers and the position has been filled šŸ™‚ It’s good to know that there are so many crocheters around.

Ask me a question to save me getting lonely!

Recent Posts
Archives
